सत्येंद्र नाथ बसु राष्ट्रीय मौलिक विज्ञान केंद्र

सत्येंद्र नाथ बसु राष्ट्रीय मौलिक विज्ञान केंद्र

S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences

People

Faculty members

Samit Kumar Ray
Samit Kumar Ray
408
Senior Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Ph.D. Degree: IIT Kharagpur
Email: samit@bose.res.in
Tanusri Saha Dasgupta
Tanusri Saha Dasgupta
207
Senior Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: The Physics of Materials
Ph.D. Degree: SNBNCBS, Calcutta University
Email: tanusri@bose.res.in
Archan S. Majumdar
Archan S. Majumdar
215
Senior Professor
Department of Astrophysics and Cosmology
Field of Research: Cosmology and Quantum Information Theory
Ph.D. Degree: Delhi University
Email: archan@bose.res.in
Kalyan Mandal
Kalyan Mandal
203
Senior Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter
Ph.D. Degree: IIT Kharagpur
Email: kalyan@bose.res.in
Priya Mahadevan
Priya Mahadevan
211
Senior Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Condensed Matter Theory
Ph.D. Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: priya@bose.res.in
Amitabha Lahiri
Amitabha Lahiri
209
Senior Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Field Theory, Mathematical Physics and Gravitation
Ph.D. Degree: Syracuse University
Email: amitabha@bose.res.in
Anjan Barman
Anjan Barman
201
Senior Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Ph.D. Degree: IACS, Jadavpur University
Email: abarman@bose.res.in
Samir Kumar Pal
Samir Kumar Pal
230
Senior Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Ultrafast Spectroscopy of Molecules and Nanomaterials, Solar Devices and Biomedical Instrumentation
Ph.D. Degree: IACS, Jadavpur University
Email: skpal@bose.res.in
Ranjit Biswas
Ranjit Biswas
233
Senior Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Physical Chemistry
Ph.D. Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: ranjit@bose.res.in
Jaydeb Chakrabarti
Jaydeb Chakrabarti
224
Senior Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Soft Condensed Matter and Complex Fluids
Ph.D. Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: jaydeb@bose.res.in
Biswajit Chakraborty
Biswajit Chakraborty
231
Senior Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Field Theory
Ph.D. Degree: IMSc, Madras University
Email: biswajit@bose.res.in
Manu Mathur
Manu Mathur
220
Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Field Theory
Ph.D. Degree: IMSc, Madras University
Email: manu@bose.res.in
Prosenjit Singha Deo
Prosenjit Singha Deo
226
Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Mesoscopic Systems
Ph.D. Degree: IOP, Utkal University
Email: deo@bose.res.in
Gautam Gangopadhyay
Gautam Gangopadhyay
213
Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Chemical Physics
Ph.D. Degree: IACS, Jadavpur University
Email: gautam@bose.res.in
Rajib Kumar Mitra
Rajib Kumar Mitra
252
Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Biophysical Chemistry
Ph.D. Degree: ISI, Kolkata (Jadavpur University)
Email: rajib@bose.res.in
Barnali Ghosh (Saha)
Barnali Ghosh (Saha)
447
Scientist - F
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Ph.D. Degree: University of Kalyani
Email: barnali@bose.res.in
M. Sanjay Kumar
M. Sanjay Kumar
219
Associate Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Optics
Ph.D. Degree: University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
Email: sanjay@bose.res.in
Manik Pradhan
Manik Pradhan
440
Associate Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Laser Spectroscopy, Biomedical Optics and Physical Chemistry
Ph.D. Degree: University of Bristol, UK
Email: manik.pradhan@bose.res.in
Soumen Mondal
Soumen Mondal
378
Associate Professor
Department of Astrophysics and Cosmology
Field of Research: Observational Astronomy and Instrumentation
Ph.D. Degree: Physical Research Laboratory (Gujarat University)
Email: soumen.mondal@bose.res.in
Punyabrata Pradhan
Punyabrata Pradhan
441
Associate Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Nonequilibrium Statistical Physics
Ph.D. Degree: Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
Email: punyabrata.pradhan@bose.res.in
Sakuntala Chatterjee
Sakuntala Chatterjee
448
Associate Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Statistical Physics and Biological Physics
Ph.D. Degree: Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
Email: sakuntala.chatterjee@bose.res.in
Manoranjan Kumar
Manoranjan Kumar
217
Associate Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Condensed Matter Theory
Ph.D. Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: manoranjan.kumar@bose.res.in
Ramkrishna Das
Ramkrishna Das
232
Assistant Professor
Department of Astrophysics and Cosmology
Field of Research: NOVA and Variable Star
Ph.D. Degree: Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
Email: ramkrishna.das@bose.res.in
Sunandan Gangopadhyay
Sunandan Gangopadhyay
228
Assistant Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Theoretical Physics
Ph.D. Degree: SNBNCBS (WBUT)
Email: sunandan.gangopadhyay@bose.res.in
Atindra Nath Pal
437
Assistant Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Ph.D. Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: atin@bose.res.in
Thirupathaiah Setti
Thirupathaiah Setti
229
Assistant Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Ph.D. Degree: Technical University, Berlin
Email: setti@bose.res.in
Suman Chakrabarty
Suman Chakrabarty
236
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
Ph.D. Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: sumanc@bose.res.in
Urna Basu
208
Assistant Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Non equilibrium statistical physics, fluctuation relations and critical phenomena
Ph.D. Degree: University of Calcutta
Email: urna.basu@bose.res.in
Tapas Baug
227
Assistant Professor
Department of Astrophysics and Cosmology
Field of Research: Observational Astronomy
Ph.D. Degree: Physical Research Laboratory (affiliated to MLSU,Udaipur)
Email: tapasbaug@bose.res.in
Sanjoy Choudhury
Sanjoy Choudhury
300
Scientist - D
Computer Services Cell
Email: sanjoy.choudhury@bose.res.in
Nitesh Kumar
214
Assistant Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Material Science
Ph.D. Degree: Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, 2014
Email: nitesh.kumar@bose.res.in

S. N. BOSE CHAIR Professor

Debashis Mukherjee
Debashis Mukherjee
422
S. N. BOSE CHAIR Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Theoretical Chemistry and Theoretical Spectroscopy
Ph.D. Degree: University of Calcutta

Emeritus Professor

Rabin Banerjee
Rabin Banerjee
223
Emeritus Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Field Theory
Ph.D. Degree: SINP, Calcutta University
Email: rabin@bose.res.in
Subhrangshu Sekhar Manna
Subhrangshu Sekhar Manna
202
Emeritus Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Statistical Mechanics of Complex Systems
Ph.D. Degree: SINP, Calcutta University
Email: manna@bose.res.in
Milan Kumar Sanyal
221
Emeritus Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Condensed Matter Physics
Ph.D. Degree: BARC (University of Bombay)
Goutam De
239
Emeritus Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Ph.D. Degree: IACS, Jadavpur University
Email: goutam.de@bose.res.in

Honorary Professor

Dipankar Das Sarma
Emeritus Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Ph.D. Degree: Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
Biman Bagchi
Honorary Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Ph.D. Degree: Brown University, Providence, R.I., U.S.A
Email: bimanbagchi@bose.res.in

Honorary Professor (Emeritus)

Bikash K. Chakrabarti
Honorary Professor (Emeritus)
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Ph.D. Degree: Calcutta University, Kolkata

Honorary Fellow

Pratip Kumar Mukhopadhyay
Pratip Kumar Mukhopadhyay
218
Honorary Fellow
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter
Ph.D. Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: pkm@bose.res.in
Ranjan Chaudhury
Ranjan Chaudhury
216
Honorary Fellow
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Condensed Matter Theory
Ph.D. Degree: TIFR, Bombay University
Email: ranjan@bose.res.in
Bhupendra Nath Dev
Honorary Fellow
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Surface and Nano Scale Science
Ph.D. Degree: State University of New York at Albeny, USA , 1985
Email: bhupendra.nath.dev@bose.res.in

Visiting Researcher

Madhuri Mandal (Goswami)
Madhuri Mandal (Goswami)
234
Visiting Researcher
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Synthesis of various nanomaterials and their proper engineering for biological application
Ph.D. Degree: IIT Kharagpur
Email: madhuri@bose.res.in

DST INSPIRE Faculty

Tatini Rakshit
Tatini Rakshit
268
DST INSPIRE Faculty
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Colloid and Surface Chemistry
Ph.D. Degree: IACS, Kolkata
Email: tatini.rakshit@bose.res.in
Saumya Mukherjee
413
DST INSPIRE Faculty
Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Ph.D. Degree: Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI) and Department of Physics, ETH Zurich, Switzerland, 2017
Email: saumya.mukherjee@bose.res.in
Anup Ghosh
Anup Ghosh
379
DST INSPIRE Faculty
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Ionic Liquids Fluorescence Spectroscopy
Ph.D. Degree: IISER, Kolkata

Ramanujan Fellow

Debanjan Bose
200
Ramanujan Fellow
Department of Astrophysics and Cosmology
Field of Research: High Energy Astrophysics, Astro-particle Physics, Gamma-ray Astronomy, Neutrino Astronomy, Neutrino Physics and Multi-Messenger Astronomy
Ph.D. Degree: Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
Email: debanjan.bose@bose.res.in

Scientist

Subhra Jana
Subhra Jana
235
Scientist
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Colloid and Surface Chemistry
Ph.D. Degree: IIT Kharagpur
Email: subhra.jana@bose.res.in