S N Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences

सत्येंद्र नाथ बसु राष्ट्रीय मौलिक विज्ञान केंद्र

People

Faculty members

Samit Kumar Ray
Samit Kumar Ray
408
Senior Professor and Director
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
PhD Degree: IIT Kharagpur
Email: samit@bose.res.in
Tanusri Saha Dasgupta
Tanusri Saha Dasgupta (on lien to IACS)
207
Senior Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: The Physics of Materials
PhD Degree: SNBNCBS, Calcutta University
Email: tanusri@bose.res.in
Archan S. Majumdar
Archan S. Majumdar
215
Senior Professor and Dean (Faculty)
Department of Astrophysics and Cosmology
Field of Research: Cosmology and Quantum Information Theory
PhD Degree: Delhi University
Email: archan@bose.res.in
Kalyan Mandal
Kalyan Mandal
203
Senior Professor and HOD
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter
PhD Degree: IIT Kharagpur
Email: kalyan@bose.res.in
Priya Mahadevan
Priya Mahadevan
211
Senior Professor and Associate Dean (Academic Programme)
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Condensed Matter Theory
PhD Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: priya@bose.res.in
Amitabha Lahiri
Amitabha Lahiri
209
Senior Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Field Theory, Mathematical Physics and Gravitation
PhD Degree: Syracuse University
Email: amitabha@bose.res.in
Anjan Barman
Anjan Barman
201
Senior Professor and Associate Dean (Faculty)
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
PhD Degree: IACS, Jadavpur University
Email: abarman@bose.res.in
Samir Kumar Pal
Samir Kumar Pal
230
Senior Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Ultrafast Spectroscopy of Molecules and Nanomaterials, Solar Devices and Biomedical Instrumentation
PhD Degree: IACS, Jadavpur University
Email: skpal@bose.res.in
Ranjit Biswas
Ranjit Biswas
233
Senior Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Physical Chemistry
PhD Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: ranjit@bose.res.in
Jaydeb Chakrabarti
Jaydeb Chakrabarti
224
Senior Professor and HOD
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Soft Condensed Matter and Complex Fluids
PhD Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: jaydeb@bose.res.in
Biswajit Chakraborty
Biswajit Chakraborty
231
Senior Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Field Theory
PhD Degree: IMSc, Madras University
Email: biswajit@bose.res.in
Manu Mathur
Manu Mathur
220
Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Field Theory
PhD Degree: IMSc, Madras University
Email: manu@bose.res.in
Prosenjit Singha Deo
Prosenjit Singha Deo
226
Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Mesoscopic Systems
PhD Degree: IOP, Utkal University
Email: deo@bose.res.in
Gautam Gangopadhyay
Gautam Gangopadhyay
213
Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Chemical Physics
PhD Degree: IACS, Jadavpur University
Email: gautam@bose.res.in
Rajib Kumar Mitra
Rajib Kumar Mitra
252
Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Biophysical Chemistry
PhD Degree: ISI, Kolkata (Jadavpur University)
Email: rajib@bose.res.in
Barnali Ghosh (Saha)
Barnali Ghosh (Saha)
447
Scientist - F
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
PhD Degree: University of Kalyani
Email: barnali@bose.res.in
M. Sanjay Kumar
M. Sanjay Kumar
219
Associate Professor and HOD
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Optics
PhD Degree: University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
Email: sanjay@bose.res.in
Manik Pradhan
Manik Pradhan
440
Associate Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Laser Spectroscopy, Biomedical Optics and Physical Chemistry
PhD Degree: University of Bristol, UK
Email: manik.pradhan@bose.res.in
Soumen Mondal
Soumen Mondal
378
Associate Professor and HOD
Department of Astrophysics and Cosmology
Field of Research: Observational Astronomy and Instrumentation
PhD Degree: Physical Research Laboratory (Gujarat University)
Email: soumen.mondal@bose.res.in
Punyabrata Pradhan
Punyabrata Pradhan
441
Associate Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Nonequilibrium Statistical Physics
PhD Degree: Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
Email: punyabrata.pradhan@bose.res.in
Sakuntala Chatterjee
Sakuntala Chatterjee
448
Associate Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Statistical Physics and Biological Physics
PhD Degree: Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
Email: sakuntala.chatterjee@bose.res.in
Manoranjan Kumar
Manoranjan Kumar
217
Associate Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Condensed Matter Theory
PhD Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: manoranjan.kumar@bose.res.in
Ramkrishna Das
Ramkrishna Das
232
Assistant Professor
Department of Astrophysics and Cosmology
Field of Research: NOVA and Variable Star
PhD Degree: Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
Email: ramkrishna.das@bose.res.in
Sunandan Gangopadhyay
Sunandan Gangopadhyay
228
Assistant Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Theoretical Physics
PhD Degree: SNBNCBS (WBUT)
Email: sunandan.gangopadhyay@bose.res.in
Atindra Nath Pal
437
Assistant Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
PhD Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: atin@bose.res.in
Thirupathaiah Setti
Thirupathaiah Setti
229
Assistant Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
PhD Degree: Technical University, Berlin
Email: setti@bose.res.in
Suman Chakrabarty
Suman Chakrabarty
236
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
PhD Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: sumanc@bose.res.in
Sanjoy Choudhury
Sanjoy Choudhury
300
Scientist - D
Email: sanjoy.choudhury@bose.res.in

Emeritus Professor

Rabin Banerjee
Rabin Banerjee
223
Emeritus Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Quantum Field Theory
PhD Degree: SINP, Calcutta University
Email: rabin@bose.res.in
Subhrangshu Sekhar Manna
Subhrangshu Sekhar Manna
202
Emeritus Professor
Department of Theoretical Sciences
Field of Research: Statistical Mechanics of Complex Systems
PhD Degree: SINP, Calcutta University
Email: manna@bose.res.in
Milan Kumar Sanyal
221
Emeritus Professor
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Condensed Matter Physics
PhD Degree: BARC (University of Bombay)
Goutam De
239
Emeritus Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
PhD Degree: IACS, Jadavpur University
Email: goutam.de@bose.res.in

Honorary Fellow

Pratip Kumar Mukhopadhyay
Pratip Kumar Mukhopadhyay
218
Honorary Fellow
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Experimental Condensed Matter
PhD Degree: IISc, Bangalore
Email: pkm@bose.res.in
Ranjan Chaudhury
Ranjan Chaudhury
216
Honorary Fellow
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Condensed Matter Theory
PhD Degree: TIFR, Bombay University
Email: ranjan@bose.res.in

Visiting Researcher

Madhuri Mandal (Goswami)
Madhuri Mandal (Goswami)
234
Visiting Researcher
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Synthesis of various nanomaterials and their proper engineering for biological application
PhD Degree: IIT Kharagpur
Email: madhuri@bose.res.in

DST INSPIRE Faculty

Manik Banik
376
DST INSPIRE Faculty
Department of Astrophysics and Cosmology
Field of Research: Quantum Foundations & Quantum Information
PhD Degree: ISI (Calcutta University)
Email: manik.banik@bose.res.in
Tatini Rakshit
Tatini Rakshit
268
DST INSPIRE Faculty
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Colloid and Surface Chemistry
PhD Degree: IACS, Kolkata
Email: tatini.rakshit@bose.res.in
Anup Ghosh
Anup Ghosh
379
DST INSPIRE Faculty
Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Material Sciences
Field of Research: Ionic Liquids Fluorescence Spectroscopy
PhD Degree: IISER, Kolkata

S. N. BOSE CHAIR Professor

Debashis Mukherjee
Debashis Mukherjee
422
S. N. BOSE CHAIR Professor
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Theoretical Chemistry and Theoretical Spectroscopy
PhD Degree: University of Calcutta

Scientist

Subhra Jana
Subhra Jana
235
Scientist
Department of Chemical, Biological and Macro-molecular Sciences
Field of Research: Colloid and Surface Chemistry
PhD Degree: IIT Kharagpur
Email: subhra.jana@bose.res.in